4Backup FAQ

  • Is there a storage limit?

    There is no storage limit. The 4Backup service offers unlimited storage for your backups.

  • How do I access the 4Backup web portal?

    You can access the web portal by using the following URL livedrive.com/login . Or via portal.ask4.com/4backup

  • Are my 4Backup details the same as my ASK4 account details?

    Your username is your own ASK4 username, plus @ask4.co.uk – Eg. jon.snow@ask4.co.uk. Please note that MyAccount and 4Backup are not linked, so if you have changed your ASK4 password through MyAccount, this will not update 4Backup.

  • I forgot my username/password, what do I do?

    Call the Support Team on 0114 303 3232 to retrieve your login details.

  • How secure is the data stored on 4Backup?

    The data will be stored across multiple locations in custom-built data-centres that use military grade encryption technology to ensure that your data is safe and secure. In addition, 4Backup supports SSL transfers between your computer and the backup servers, ensuring that data is encrypted whilst being uploaded or downloaded.

  • Is there a limitation of devices that can be used with 4Backup?

    You can use as many devices as you want. Each device will appear in the Livedrive portal.

  • Which operating systems are supported by 4Backup?

    The software runs on Windows (XP, Vista, 7, 8 and 10) and on Mac OS X (10.6+)

  • Can I access my files on my phone?

    Yes, there is a Livedrive app available on the App Store, Windows Store and Google Play Store.

  • What happens if I delete a file of my computer, will it still be backed up?

    The file will also get deleted from 4Backup (Livedrive) and put into the recycle bin for at least 30 days.

    Please note:

    4Backup is not to be used for archiving. You must at all times hold an original copy of the file in the original location on the system is was backed up from. If you delete files from your computer that have been backed up, they will also get removed from the corresponding backup on the servers.

  • What if the originally backed up file has been recently changed on my computer?

    4Backup can keep up to 30 different versions of a file. So you can revert to a previous version of the file at any time.

  • How does 4Backup know which files and folders I want to backup?

    Upon installation of the 4Backup Livedrive software, you will be asked to choose which folders you want to sync for backup.

  • How do I add more folders to the backup scheme?

    You can do so by right clicking on the folder and selecting “Backup with Livedrive Backup”

  • How do I remove files from 4Backup?
    1. Click on the “Livedrive” icon.
    2. Select “Manage Backups”
    3. Navigate to the folder you wish to remove from 4Backup and deselect the folder/file.
    4. Click OK.